What I Wish I'd Known When My First Novel Was Published -- Interview with Lisa Wingate

What I Wish I'd Know When My first Novel Was Published Today, I'd love to introduce a lovely writer, lady and friend. If you aren't familiar with Lisa Wingate, you are missing out.

Selected among Booklist’s Top 10 for two consecutive years, Lisa skillfully weaves lyrical writing and unforgettable settings with elements of traditional Southern storytelling, history, and mystery to create novels that Publisher’s Weekly calls “Masterful” and Library Journal refers to as “A good option for fans of Nicholas Sparks and Mary Alice Monroe.”

Lisa is a journalist, an inspirational speaker, and the author of twenty-five novels. She is a seven-time ACFW Carol Award nominee, a multiple Christy Award nominee, a two-time Carol Award winner, and a 2015 RT Booklovers Magazine Reviewer’s Choice Award Winner for mystery/suspense. Recently, the group Americans for More Civility, a kindness watchdog organization, selected Lisa along with Bill Ford, Camille Cosby, and six others as recipients of the National Civies Award, which celebrates public figures who work to promote greater kindness and civility in American life. Booklist summed up her work by saying, “Lisa Wingate is, quite simply, a master storyteller.” More information about her novels can be found at www.lisawingate.com.


Many thanks to Lisa for sharing a great topic on Writerly Wednesday today.


What I Wish I’d Known When My First Novel Was Published

By Lisa Wingate

No matter what trajectory your particular writing career may take or what point you’re at in your quest, you can safely assume that, if you’ve chosen this profession, you’re in for a roller coaster ride. A writing career is challenging. It’s demanding. It’s busy. It can be unforgiving and maddening. It can also be unbelievably rewarding and filled with moments of story and human connection that are nothing short of bliss. With my twenty-fifth book, The Sea Keeper’s Daughters, hitting shelves in the September, I can honestly say that my career has been filled with things I didn’t expect. That’s probably because I knew next to nothing about the business when I started.

If I could go back to the moment I sold my first mainstream novel, Tending Roses, to (then) Penguin Putnam, I’d tell myself a few things:

  1. Write because you love it. 

I know everyone says that, but it’s true.  If you really want a long career, you must figure out how to produce book, after book, while managing promotion, production edits, multiple forms of communication, and life in general. Set a manageable daily page quota or daily writing hours, and hold yourself to it.  One of the hardest things about writing is time management.

  1. Finish your first manuscript and write another. 

It’s almost impossible to sell on a partial in fiction if you’re unpublished.  Polish your manuscript and send it out, because as much as we’d like them to, editors won’t come looking in your desk drawer.  While you’re waiting for news, write another book.  If the first one sells, you’ll be set for a two-book deal.  If the first one doesn’t sell, you will have eggs in another basket.  Be tenacious, be a thick-skinned as possible, keep writing while you wait for news.

  1. Rejection stinks, but it happens.

Rejection isn’t anything personal; it’s just part of the business, and it’s to be expected.  Your project isn’t bad just because it gets rejected.  It may not be that editor’s (or agent’s) cup of tea, the house might not be buying right then, they may have another author under contract whose work is similar to yours, and so on.  There are so many reasons a book can be rejected, and the real trick is to look at the rejections as a tool and then move on.  Don’t make sweeping changes based on one opinion unless there’s an imminent sale involved.  Conversely, if you receive the same criticism from several editors (or agents), consider pulling out the red pen and getting to work

  1. You probably won’t hit the NYT immediately.

In fact, few writers ever reach this coveted level. Be careful how you measure success. Setting lofty goals is a good thing… right up until you feel like a failure for not achieving them. Myriad factors determine which books get the “perfect storm” of great cover, great market timing, and heavy publisher promotion. Some of it is just luck. Write the very best book you can. Do what you can to promote. Stop obsessing. Write another book.

  1. Find your creative tribe.

On any given road, you’re never the only traveler.  Others walk in shoes like your own and shoes that are different.  Find them. Critique one another’s work, brainstorm together, give creative criticism, take creative criticism, and learn from one another. Give back more than you get.

  1. Cheer for other people.

One of the best promotional avenues available to writers today, yesterday, and tomorrow remains cooperative promotion. Find authors whose work is similar to yours. Shout out for one another’s successes, awards, and new releases. Your readers will thank you for the tips and you’ll feel good about doing something positive for someone else. You’ll also have that warm feeling when others do the same for you.


Above all, while you’re walking the writer-road, be aware, be in the moment, don’t close your eyes even for an instant.  Wherever you go in life, there are nuggets of story along the trail.  Sometimes you’ll see them coming; sometimes you’ll stumble over them.  Pause long enough to pick them up and examine them.  Your writer's mind can take it from there.



Read a free excerpt of The Sea Keeper’s Daughters: http://lisawingate.com/seakeepersdaughtersexcerpt.pdf



Where can readers find you on the Internet?

Lisa’s website: www.Lisawingate.com

Lisa’s newsletter: Signup here

Twitter  |  Facebook  |  Pinterest  |  

Lisa’s blog: The Untold Story

Group blog: www.SouthernBelleViewDaily.com


Again, many thanks to the awesome Lisa Wingate. In addition to sharing her wisdom, Lisa has gracious offered to give away an autographed copy of The Storyteller. To be entered to win, simply comment below. The winner will be randomly drawn and announced on August 1st's Monday Cuppa post.